A Couple Photos

I went to the DNC Moving America Forward Rally in Las Vegas.

I went, I saw, and was glad that I have seen the President.  I am neither for nor against anyone based on their party affiliations.  I will support those who I would want to represent me.  The two party system is turning into an Us versus Them game (it was stated like this at the rally); when you make it adversarial, coming to agreements and working for the common good is already hampered.

Treat everyone the same, I think that might be appealing to both sides.  Entitlement programs and corporate loopholes, subsidies and tariffs, death taxes and estate taxes.  You could spin any policy to appeal to any demographic, or at least try and hope that no one calls you on your twisted logic.  

So I saw a few Democratic Party nominees: 

Rory Reid - gubernatorial candidate

Dina Titus - US House of Representatives-NV

Shelly Berkley - US House of Representatives-NV

Harry Reid, NV Senator

 

First of all, this was mostly a Democratic Party gathering, so the two representatives and the two Reids went to their campaign messaging.  Rehashing the political ads that Southern Nevada has been seeing for the last few months (except for Berkley, she really hasn’t had to campaign much in her non-competitve race).  Titus unleashed her clever “Heck No!” chant, I hadn’t heard that before-and I thought that we were past this point of making fun of our opponent’s name, but the sad part is people will probably remember it.  (Her opponent is Joe Heck) 
Apparently the theme of the event was ‘early voting’ and while you’re within walking distance of the Boulevard Mall-why don’t you head over there and vote now.
And then there was the person that disrupted the Union speakers prepared statements by arriving by motorcade.  Of the crowd that was gathered, I would say that 99% of the group turned away from the stage and watched the vehicles while this lady was trying to deliver her speech.  I thought it was rather rude, and she basically said a few inaudible words over the commotion and exited the stage.
 

I would say that the President is a gifted speaker, and it is a shame that others in government have not nurtured this skill.  Why we have elected officials that have a difficult time communicating with the public (remember town hall meetings this past summer), and colleagues (the house of representatives makes the news not for the intellectual debates, but for the interesting blunders that come from our representatives) is beyond my understanding.  Take some pride, be better for the people that elected you, you have your term (be it 2, 6, or 4 years) to make the others beleive in you.

2 Responses to “A Couple Photos”


  1. 1 MoneyGQ March 4, 2014 at 6:43 am

    Amazing blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go
    for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed ..
    Any suggestions? Bless you!

  2. 2 Kaley April 24, 2014 at 1:13 pm

    The other day, while I was at work, my sister
    stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive a forty foot drop, just
    so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now destroyed and she
    has 83 views. I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with someone!


Leave a Reply

